My car collection

I do not own a car (or a two-wheeler or any other type of four-wheeler) and neither do I see myself owning one. For one, I am a great fan of public transport, and living in a city like Mumbai, I have never had to worry about transport. Second, I do not want to contribute to the existing traffic chaos and pollution by adding my vehicle to it. And third, I can’t drive. Yes, I have been told it is shocking that I can’t drive, but hey, that’s one skill I’m quite comfortable not having. But all this has not stopped me from liking cars. In fact, I consider vintage cars as works of art, and seeing a Volkswagen Beetle on the road gives me a high.

I realised only lately that I didn’t just like cars. I loved them. I discovered 94 photos of cars (I counted, honest!) during yet another attempt to bring some order to my ever-growing, unmanageable, digital photos. Surprisingly, there were no photographs of Volkswagen Beetles—though there were lots of photos of vintage cars as well as photographs of strange-looking and quirky cars.

Presenting some of them the cars from “my car collection” :-D

Hampstead Village, London: A pretty strange looking car, called Cube !

Parking lot in Stratford-upon-Avon: This green beauty was all the more conspicuous as there were just two other cars in the lot

Hampstead Village, London: Jaguar

Chepstow, Wales: This gorgeous 1953 Riley was waiting outside Chepstow Castle for the bride and groom who were having a photo shoot in the castle

Hampstead Village, London: The frames that you can see on the car were made of wood. This was quite an ugly, but charming car

Regent's Park, London: This white, stretch limousine was waiting for a wedding party who had come to the park for a photo shoot

Chipping Campden, England: Just about managed to capture this shot before this vintage racing car zoomed off !

Inorbit Mall, Vashi: See, but dont touch. Vintage cars at an exhibition

Kala Ghoda, Mumbai: A Wolseley at an exhibition of vintage cars

London: Posing with a Citroen

Now while I like love cars, I have absolutely no interest in their specifications or make or year or mileage or whatever else it is that true car lovers get themselves all excited about. In fact, I can’t even differentiate between a Mercedes and BMW or any other car for that matter—the exception being a Beetle. All that matters to me is whether it appeals to my senses or not. And thanks to my camera, I can record these works of art for posterity. :-)

So, tell me, which one of these cars did you like?

13 thoughts on “My car collection

  1. Enjoyed reading this as I too share the same thoughts as you do on cars:)

    By the way I like the one that you are posing with:)

  2. For a bit I thought you own all these cars. ;)
    I don’t know much about these machines and to my eye these were interesting because of the vintage feel. Old English landscape and women in flowery gowns… ah!

Please leave a Reply

